The Joy Luck Club Review

I absolutely flew through this book! While I am a voracious reader, it typically takes me a week or more to get through an entire novel. It might help that I had the past week off from school, during which I did nothing but read, sleep, and eat.

 Anywho, I’ve officially decided that I am going to make my reviews short and sweet. This way, I don’t spoil anything for you, and you get the gist of what the book is about. As an extra little bonus, you’ll receive my honest opinion about what I have read.

Title: The Joy Luck Club

Author: Amy Tan

Quick Synopsis: Four female Chinese immigrants come together to form the Joy Luck Club. Each month, they meet up to share traditional Chinese meals and play the game of mahjong. The novel is divided into four parts, with each part containing four chapters. Each chapter is told from the view of one of the four mothers or one of thee four daughters. Taken together, the reader learns important bits of information about each of the four mother/daughter pairs and their families.

Opinion: Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. I found myself laughing out loud at some of the things the mothers said to their daughters, and sympathizing with each woman’s unique situation. However, I found myself growing increasingly aggravated with one character in particular: Jing-Mei Woo. I found that I felt the least sympathy for her out of all of the characters. In my opinion, she was a brat as a child, rebelling against everything that her mother even showed an ounce of interest in. I understand that she felt pressure when she was constantly compared to Waverly Jong, but this girl was seriously annoying. Her only redeeming quality came at the end, when she finally let her true emotions shine through.

 This is a highly recommended read!!

~Carolinabookworm

Posted on January 23, 2012, in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

