Frankenstein Review

*Book 1/7 for the Classics Reading Challenge!!

I’m going to be perfectly honest here-if I didn’t have to read Frankenstein for class, I never would have picked it up. Having said this, I did enjoy it…to a certain extent.

Title: Frankenstein

Author: Mary Shelley

Quick Synopsis: The  novel begins with four letters written by Robert Walton to his sister. He is on a ship in the Arctic when his boat picks up a man who is on the brink of death. This stranger happens to be Dr. Victor Frankenstein, who proceeds to tell his tragic story to his new friend, Mr. Walton. Without spoiling anything for you, he tells us about how his life has led him to create “the creature.” We then meet the monster, who tells his story to Dr. Frankenstein. After completing his story, he makes a very specific request of his creator, and we return to Frankenstein’s perspective as we learn the outcome of his tragedy.

Opinion: I felt like there were several slow sections in this book. However,  I like the build-up in tension as we “hear” the story along with Robert Walton. While not every single minute detail was absolutely necessary, it did help to set the tone of this gothic novel. I felt like I was living with the Frankenstein family as Victor grew up, or sitting beside “the creature” in his little hovel.

For some reason, I have been aggravated by several characters in the last couple of books that I have read. This time, my frustration was directed toward…drumroll please…Dr. Victor Frankenstein. I felt little to no sympathy for everything that occurred after he brought his creation to life. His utter disgust and subsequent shunning of his life-form was infuriating! I feel like if he had just shown even an ounce of love for “the creature,” things wouldn’t have gone down like they did. I understand that there wouldn’t have been a story if this had happened, but did Ms. Shelley really have to make the protagonist so naive???

Overall, this novel was just okay for me. I’m not a huge fan of gothic literature; I don’t like overly moody characters and dreary atmospheres. I plan on blogging about this book one more time after my class holds a seminar (next week?) because it will be interesting to hear my classmates’ opinions. Maybe I will hear something that will change my opinion, or somebody will bring up a point that I never considered on my own.

~Carolinabookworm

Posted on January 31, 2012, in Book Reviews, Reading Challenges and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

